Our Team


In Topeka

Room: 345-S

Phone: 785-296-3245

Email: Anthony.Hensley@senate.ks.gov

At Home

2226 Southeast Virginia Avenue
Topeka, KS 66605

Phone: 785-232-1944

Email: anthony.hensley@hotmail.com



Sen. Anthony Hensley, Leader

District 19

Throughout his years of public service, Anthony Hensley has been identified with improving the quality of education, access to affordable health care, tax fairness, safety in the workplace, job training and fair wages.  In addition, he has worked for better community-based services for disabled, mentally ill and aging Kansans.

Hensley was first elected to the Kansas Legislature in 1976 at the age of 23.  He served 16 years in the Kansas House of Representatives before being appointed to the Kansas Senate on July 1, 1992.  He is a lifelong resident of the 19th Senate District, comprised of eastern Topeka and Shawnee County, western Douglas and Jefferson counties, and all of Osage County.

In 1997, Hensley was elected Senate Democratic Leader and is now in his sixth term in that office.  2018 is Hensley’s 42nd session, making him the longest serving member of the Legislature in Kansas history.

Hensley is a 1975 graduate of Washburn University and holds a master’s degree in Special Education from Kansas State University. Outside of his legislative duties, he has been a public school teacher for 43 years, and is currently a U.S. Government teacher at his high school alma mater, Highland Park High School in Topeka

He and his wife Deborah live in the house Hensley grew up in. Their daughter, Katie, who is married to Jason Bivens, is an Assistant Principal in the Topeka school district.  The Hensleys are grandparents to Katie and Jason’s three daughters, Brighton, Lily and Parker.


Standing Committees:

Education (Ranking minority member)

Financial Institutions & Insurance

Ways & Means


Special/Interim Committees:

Confirmation Oversight (Vice Chairman)

Senate Select Committee on KPERS (Ranking minority member)

Interstate Cooperation (Ranking minority member)

2017 Special Committee on Comprehensive Response to the School Finance Decision

Legislative Post Audit Committee

Legislative Coordinating Council